G4 Countries

The G4 countries have reiterated that expansion of UN Security Council in both
permanent and non-permanent categories is essential to make the body more
representative, legitimate, effective and efficient.

  • The G4 Is a grouping of Brazil, Germany, India and Japan which are aspiring to become
    permanent members of the UNSC.
  • They are supporting each other’s bids for permanent membership of the UNSC.
  • The G4 nations traditionally meet on the sidelines of the annual high-level UN General
    Assembly session.
  • The Uniting for Consensus (UfC), or the Coffee Club, emerged in the 1990s in opposition
    to the potential extension of permanent seats on the UN Security Council.
  • Italy along with Pakistan, Mexico and Egypt founded the Coffee Club in 1995 to reject
    the proposal to increase the number of permanent seats in the UNSC.
    UN Security Council
  • EST: United Nations charter in 1945
  • HQ: New York City, USA.
  • Members: 15 members
  • Permanent members with veto power (P5 members): the United States, the Russian
    Federation, France, China and the United Kingdom.
  • Non-permanent members: The non-permanent members of the Security Council are
    elected for a term of two years.