International Coral Reef Initiative

  • The International Coral Reef Initiative (ICRI) said it would secure public and private
    investment to help conserve and restore coral ecosystems.
  • International Coral Reef Initiative was launched in 1994 by Australia, France, Japan,
    Jamaica, the Philippines, Sweden, Britain and the United States.
  • Its members now include 45 countries that represent three quarters of the world’s coral
  • India is also a member country of this initiative.
  • It is a global partnership between Nations and organizations which strives to preserve
    coral reefs and related ecosystems around the world.
  • Its decisions are not binding on its members.
  • The work of ICRI is regularly acknowledged in United Nations documents, highlighting
    the Initiative’s important cooperation, collaboration and advocacy role within the
    international arena.
  • Encourage the adoption of best practice in sustainable management of coral reefs and
    associated ecosystems
  • Build capacity
  • Raise awareness at all levels on the plight of coral reefs around the world.